Evergreen Review

Joy Garnett has been the Art Editor of Evergreen Review since 2019.

She has brought the works of contemporary artists to its pages, including:

Caroline Caldwell, Paul Chan, Lionel Cruet, Elizabeth Duffy, Joy Episalla, Asha Ganpat, David Humphrey, Amira Karoud, Charles Lim Yi Yong, Shelley Marlow, Brontez Purnell, Ann Shelton, Bishakh Som, Alan Turnbull, Zhai Yanjun, Patricia Lay-Dorsey, Trude Viken, Oliver Wasow, Barbara Weissberger, Todd Hido, Lisa Kereszi, Clare Grill, Ashley Walters, Sue McNally, Francine Wang, Karolina Ursula Urbaniak, Betsy Weis, Heather M. O’Brien, Medrie MacPhee, Stephen Andrews, Charlotte Baker, David Barthold, Sacha Baumann, Kristopher Biernat, Ajit Chauhan, Margaret Curtis, Parastou Forouhar, Florian Heinke, Joy Ho, Elizabeth Ibarra, Matt Lambert, Brendan Lott, Marcia Lyons, China Marks, Howard Meister, Jason Middlebrook, Nazanin Noroozi, Christopher Panzner, Shirin Rafie, Huston Ripley, Himat Mohammed Ali, Janet Biggs, Matt Bollinger, Jean Marie Casbarian, Geoffrey Chadsey, Sue Coe, Hernease Davis, Steve DiBenedetto, Amir R. Hariri, Bill Jones, Christina McPhee, Marilyn Mugot, Kimo Nelson, Luis Sahagun, Susan Silas, Julia Solis, Moses Sun, Tromarama, Ken Weaver, Dan Wynn, Young-Hae Chang Heavy Industries, Douglas Anthony Cooper, William Downs, Andrew Haas, Carla Jay Harris, Robin Kahn, Benjamin King, Maxi Magnano, Robert(a) Marshall, Anton Munar, Chuck Nanney, Joan Nelson, Simon Norfolk, Brian Ormond & Christian Nicolay, Amelia Saddington, Uman, Kathy Acker, Lauriston Avery, Felipe Baeza, Mariam Bazeed, Nyame Brown, Carol Bruns, Timothy Callaghan, Tiffany Calvert, Michael Coughlan, James Esber,  Rodney Ewing, Roya Farassat, Gauri Gill, Elizabeth Glaessner, Alena Grom, Scott Hug, Jeff Joyce, Lena Kurzel, Laure A. Leber, Juliette Losq, Rhea Myers, Jacob Nader, Helen O’Leary, Dane Patterson, Polar Noire, Kevin Pyle, Cindy Rehm, Eslam Abd El Salam, Lincoln Schatz, Fatma Shanan, Karen Schifano, Wendy Small, Linda Stojak, Vincent Stracquadanio, Altoon Sultan, Whiting Tennis, Victoria Udondian, Khairulddin Wahab, and others…

In 1957, Barney Rosset, Fred Jordan and a few others launched The Evergreen Review with work by Samuel Beckett, Jean-Paul Sartre, Mark Schorer, and James Purdy. For the next sixteen years, Evergreen published writing that launched an assault on American propriety: literary, sexual, and social. Evergreen’s genius lay in its ability to mix radical American voices from the literary and social fringes—Burroughs, Ginsberg, Susan Sontag, LeRoi Jones, Henry Miller—with a global cast of writers, many of whom were introduced to American readers by the magazine: Beckett, Genet, Grass, Ōe, Duras, Paz, Walcott, Nabokov.

After a hiatus of many years, Evergreen was re-launched on-line in 1998, and then again in 2017. Now under the leadership of publisher John Oakes and editor-in-chief Dale Peck, the new Evergreen builds on Rosset’s legacy of searching out the stories that aren’t being told or aren’t being heard

Please visit: https://evergreenreview.com